---
title: "Batteries Plus Bulbs Franchise: Cost, FDD Analysis & Review"
description: "Batteries Plus Bulbs franchise costs, fees, and earnings potential. Investment range: $285K-$537K. 601+ locations. Get the data you need to decide."
url: "https://www.franchisegrade.com/best-franchises/brand/batteries-plus-bulbs"
canonical: "https://www.franchisegrade.com/best-franchises/brand/batteries-plus-bulbs"
markdown_url: "https://www.franchisegrade.com/best-franchises/brand/batteries-plus-bulbs.md"
type: "FranchiseBrand"
brand: "Batteries Plus Bulbs"
sector: "Retail Products & Services"
category: "Specialty Retail Products & Gifts"
investment_low: "284789"
investment_high: "536636"
total_units: "601"
grade: "C"
operating_model: "Owner-Operator"
---

# Batteries Plus Bulbs Franchise: Cost, FDD Analysis & Review

Batteries Plus Bulbs franchise costs, fees, and earnings potential. Investment range: $285K-$537K. 601+ locations. Get the data you need to decide.

## At a glance

- **Brand:** Batteries Plus Bulbs
- **Sector:** Retail Products & Services
- **Category:** Specialty Retail Products & Gifts
- **Total initial investment:** $284,789 – $536,636
- **Total units (FDD Item 20):** 601
- **FranchiseGrade grade:** C
- **Operating model:** Owner-Operator
- **States with locations:** AK, AL, AR, AZ, CA, CO, CT, DE, FL, HI, IA, ID, IL, IN, KS, KY, LA, MA, MD, ME, MI, MN, MO, MS, MT, NC, ND, NE, NH, NJ, NM, NV, NY, OH, OK, OR, PA, PR, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, VT, WA, WI, WV, WY

## Batteries Plus Bulbs — franchise facts

### What is the total investment required to open a Batteries Plus Bulbs franchise?

Total investment ranges from $285K to $537K, covering real estate, inventory, equipment, technology, and working capital. The franchise fee is $50K, included in the total. Liquid capital and net worth requirements align with this investment range.

### What is the Batteries Plus Bulbs franchise fee and what does it cover?

The franchise fee is $50K, which covers brand rights, initial training program (342.5 hours), site selection assistance, pre-opening support, and access to the operating system and omni-channel tools.

### What ongoing royalties and fees does Batteries Plus Bulbs charge?

Ongoing fees are minimal: 0.05% royalty on gross revenue and 0.01% advertising fund contribution. These ultra-low percentages preserve franchisee margins and are among the industry's lowest, making profitability more achievable.

### What are the liquid capital and net worth requirements for Batteries Plus Bulbs?

Specific liquid capital and net worth minimums are not disclosed in Item 19, but they align with the $285K-$537K total investment range. Prospective franchisees should contact the franchisor for detailed financial prerequisites.

### Does Batteries Plus Bulbs offer financing or connect franchisees with third-party funding?

The franchise document does not specify financing options. Franchisees typically pursue SBA loans, traditional bank financing, or alternative lenders. Contact the franchisor directly regarding any preferred lending relationships or franchisor-assisted programs.

### What initial training does Batteries Plus Bulbs provide?

The franchisor provides 342.5 hours of comprehensive training covering retail operations, product knowledge, device/key fob repair services, omni-channel systems, customer service, and financial management. Training includes classroom and hands-on components.

### What ongoing support does Batteries Plus Bulbs provide after opening?

Ongoing support includes omni-channel tools, structured operating systems, field support, regular updates on products and services, marketing materials, and access to the franchisor's support team. The low royalty structure allows franchisees to reinvest savings into local operations and growth.

### Does Batteries Plus Bulbs assist with site selection or territory assignment?

Yes, the franchisor provides site selection assistance and assigns protected territories to franchisees. Territory protection helps franchisees build stable customer bases without internal competition.

### What are the day-to-day responsibilities for a Batteries Plus Bulbs owner?

Owner responsibilities include retail operations, inventory management, customer service, device/key fob repair services, staff training and supervision, local marketing, and financial management. The scope varies based on owner involvement level and staffing decisions.

### Is Batteries Plus Bulbs suited for owner-operators or semi-absentee investors?

The franchise works for both models. Owner-operators benefit from direct customer relationships and operational control. Semi-absentee owners succeed with strong store managers and systems, though the retail and repair service components require on-site expertise and customer trust.

### What lifestyle and time commitment does owning a Batteries Plus Bulbs franchise require?

Retail operations typically require 50-60 hours per week during startup and ramp-up phases. Long-term lifestyle depends on staffing and operational delegation. Owner-operators should expect substantial hands-on involvement; semi-absentee models require strong management teams.

### What territories are available for Batteries Plus Bulbs expansion?

Batteries Plus Bulbs operates in 50 states with 601 outlets. Territory availability varies by market saturation and franchisor expansion strategy. Contact the franchisor for current opening opportunities in your target area.

### Does Batteries Plus Bulbs offer multi-unit ownership opportunities?

The franchise structure supports multi-unit development for qualified franchisees with sufficient capital and operational experience. Multi-unit owners benefit from economies of scale and regional market penetration. Discuss multi-unit plans during franchise discovery process.

### Does Batteries Plus Bulbs offer area development or master franchise agreements?

The franchise model emphasizes protected single-unit territories. Area development or master franchise options are not prominently detailed in available data. Contact the franchisor to discuss regional expansion opportunities if interested.

### What is the revenue model and profitability outlook for Batteries Plus Bulbs?

Revenue streams include retail product sales (batteries, bulbs) and device/key fob repair services. The ultra-low 0.05% royalty preserves margins. Profitability depends on location, operational efficiency, and service uptake. Item 19 provides specific historical performance data for existing franchisees.

### What sets Batteries Plus Bulbs apart from competitors?

Key differentiators include dual revenue streams (retail + repair services), established 27-year brand presence with 601 locations, ultra-low royalty fees (0.05%), protected territories, omni-channel tools, and comprehensive training. The repair service component provides recurring customer engagement and higher margins.

## Research this brand

- Full profile: https://www.franchisegrade.com/best-franchises/brand/batteries-plus-bulbs
- Compare it side by side: https://www.franchisegrade.com/compare
- Check affordability against your capital: https://www.franchisegrade.com/affordability-calculator
- Franchise terms used above: https://www.franchisegrade.com/tools/franchise-glossary

---

*Source: [FranchiseGrade](https://www.franchisegrade.com) — independent, FDD-derived franchise research.*
*Cite this page as: https://www.franchisegrade.com/best-franchises/brand/batteries-plus-bulbs*
*Training, indexing and quotation are permitted — please attribute and link to the source URL above. Full-text reproduction of the whole page is not. Licensing: privacy@franchisegrade.com*
