---
title: "Bishops Franchise: Cost, FDD Analysis & Review"
description: "Bishops franchise costs, fees, and earnings potential. Investment range: $373K-$544K. 40+ locations. Get the data you need to decide."
url: "https://www.franchisegrade.com/best-franchises/brand/Bishops"
canonical: "https://www.franchisegrade.com/best-franchises/brand/Bishops"
markdown_url: "https://www.franchisegrade.com/best-franchises/brand/Bishops.md"
type: "FranchiseBrand"
brand: "Bishops"
sector: "Personal Care & Lifestyle Services"
category: "Beauty, Hair & Nail Services"
investment_low: "373442"
investment_high: "544293"
total_units: "40"
grade: "B"
operating_model: "Semi-Absentee"
---

# Bishops Franchise: Cost, FDD Analysis & Review

Bishops franchise costs, fees, and earnings potential. Investment range: $373K-$544K. 40+ locations. Get the data you need to decide.

## At a glance

- **Brand:** Bishops
- **Sector:** Personal Care & Lifestyle Services
- **Category:** Beauty, Hair & Nail Services
- **Total initial investment:** $373,442 – $544,293
- **Total units (FDD Item 20):** 40
- **FranchiseGrade grade:** B
- **Operating model:** Semi-Absentee
- **States with locations:** AZ, CA, CO, DC, GA, IN, MN, MT, NC, OH, OR, TX, VA, WA

## Bishops — franchise facts

### What is the total investment required to open a Bishops franchise?

Total investment ranges from $373K to $544K, covering build-out, equipment, inventory, initial marketing, working capital, and franchise fees. The franchise fee itself is $50K. Exact costs vary by location, real estate market, and build-out scope, with The Riverside Company offering real estate support to optimize site acquisition.

### What does the Bishops franchise fee cover?

The $50K franchise fee covers initial training, brand development materials, operational systems, initial marketing support, and access to the proprietary salon model and vendor relationships. It also includes onboarding into the Bishops support ecosystem backed by The Riverside Company.

### What are the ongoing royalties and fees for Bishops franchisees?

Ongoing fees are minimal: 0.06% royalty on gross sales and 0.01% ad fund contribution, making Bishops one of the lowest-fee franchise models in beauty services. These low percentages preserve franchisee margins while funding national marketing, recruiting, and brand support initiatives.

### What liquid capital and net worth does Bishops require?

Specific liquid capital and net worth requirements are not disclosed in Item 19, but the $373K-$544K total investment suggests lenders typically require $100K-$150K in liquid reserves and $250K+ net worth. Prospective franchisees should contact Bishops directly or review their full disclosure document for exact qualifications.

### Does Bishops offer financing or work with third-party lenders?

Bishops does not disclose direct financing programs. However, the mid-range $373K-$544K investment and A-grade investment rating make the franchise attractive to SBA lenders and conventional financing. Franchisees should explore SBA 7(a) loans and discuss financing partnerships with the Bishops franchise team.

### How much initial training does Bishops provide?

Bishops provides 172 hours of initial training covering salon operations, staff management, financial controls, marketing execution, and the brand's distinctive music-driven service model. Training is conducted at the Bishops support center or on-site at the franchisee's location, preparing owner and staff for day-one operations.

### What ongoing support does Bishops provide after opening?

Bishops provides a dedicated Brand President team, national staff recruiter network, turnkey marketing campaigns, operational coaching, and vendor relationship management. The Riverside Company backing ensures franchisees access enterprise-level support resources, financial advisory, and continuous brand evolution guidance.

### Does Bishops help with real estate site selection?

Yes, Bishops provides real estate support as part of its franchisee success program, helping identify, negotiate, and optimize salon locations. This support reduces site selection risk and accelerates time-to-opening, a key advantage backed by The Riverside Company's real estate expertise.

### What are the day-to-day responsibilities for a Bishops owner?

In the semi-absentee model, owners typically manage scheduling, staff oversight, customer experience standards, and financial tracking, while delegating styling services and front-desk operations to hired staff. The model supports owner involvement in strategic growth, community marketing, and brand development rather than hands-on salon work.

### Is Bishops better for an owner-operator or semi-absentee model?

Bishops is purpose-built for the semi-absentee model, with systems, staffing support, and national recruiting designed to enable owner involvement without daily operations. The franchise explicitly supports this approach, making it ideal for entrepreneurs who want management oversight without hands-on salon work.

### What lifestyle and time commitment does Bishops require?

Bishops is designed for semi-absentee ownership, requiring 20-30 hours per week for oversight, staff management, and strategic decisions rather than 50+ hours typical of owner-operator salons. This model suits entrepreneurs seeking profitability and lifestyle balance without daily salon floor involvement.

### What territories are available for Bishops franchises?

Bishops currently operates 40 outlets across 14 states: AZ, CA, CO, DC, GA, IN, MN, MT, NC, OH, OR, TX, VA, and WA. Protected territories ensure franchisee exclusivity. Availability expands in underserved metros; prospective franchisees should contact Bishops for current expansion opportunities in their target markets.

### Can Bishops franchisees own multiple units?

Bishops does not explicitly disclose multi-unit ownership terms. However, successful semi-absentee franchisees often qualify for additional units based on performance and capital availability. Contact the Bishops franchise team to discuss multi-unit growth strategies and scalability options.

### Does Bishops offer area development or master franchise agreements?

Bishops does not publicly disclose area development or master franchise options. Multi-unit and regional expansion inquiries should be directed to the franchise team. The Riverside Company backing suggests openness to scalable growth models for qualified operators.

### What is the revenue model and profitability outlook for Bishops?

Bishops averages $538K in systemwide sales per unit, with profitability driven by high-margin hair and grooming services (typically 50-65% gross margin in salon services). Ultra-low ongoing fees (0.06% royalty, 0.01% ad fund) preserve franchisee margins, and semi-absentee operations reduce labor-intensity compared to owner-operator models.

### What sets Bishops apart from other salon franchises?

Bishops differentiates through its counter-cultural, music-driven, unisex positioning emphasizing inclusivity and community, versus traditional salon brands. The Riverside Company backing, proven semi-absentee model, national recruiting and real estate support, and ultra-low fees create operational advantages competitors lack.

## Research this brand

- Full profile: https://www.franchisegrade.com/best-franchises/brand/Bishops
- Compare it side by side: https://www.franchisegrade.com/compare
- Check affordability against your capital: https://www.franchisegrade.com/affordability-calculator
- Franchise terms used above: https://www.franchisegrade.com/tools/franchise-glossary

---

*Source: [FranchiseGrade](https://www.franchisegrade.com) — independent, FDD-derived franchise research.*
*Cite this page as: https://www.franchisegrade.com/best-franchises/brand/Bishops*
*Training, indexing and quotation are permitted — please attribute and link to the source URL above. Full-text reproduction of the whole page is not. Licensing: privacy@franchisegrade.com*
